Are OptiBac live cultures dairyfree or vegan?

Live cultures are vegan when they are not fermented on a dairy culture medium and thus do not contain any traces of animal products. Any OptiBac products labelled as vegan have the ‘vegan approved’ certification from the Vegetarian Society and do not use or contain animal products.

The following live cultures supplements are complety dairyfree and vegan:

Shop all our vegan supplements.

vegan/vegetarian symbol

The rest of the OptiBac range may contain tiny traces of dairy, as many of our live culture strains (such as Bifidobacterium infantis Rosell-33) are originally cultured on a basis of organic dairy & soy before being extracted. The rest of the range is therefore not recommended for those who are strictly vegan or allergic to dairy.

The natural bacteria in For your cholesterol are dairyfree, but the omega 3 capsules are not suitable for vegans.

However, certain live cultures have shown to aid the body's digestion of lactose1, and the amount of dairy in our supplements is negligible, hence the whole range can be safely recommended to those who are lactose intolerant. Many of our customers with lactose intolerance happily take live cultures containing traces of lactose on a regular basis to great benefit.

The whole range is suitable for your lactose intolerant customers. However, if they are strictly allergic to dairy then it's best stick to For every day EXTRA StrengthFor every day MAXFor those on antibioticsBifidobacteria & fibre, For daily immunity, For womenSaccharomyces boulardii or For your baby, all of which are officially & completely vegan. For further information, please refer to the allergy table below.

The below chart shows which products in the OptiBac range are classed as vegan.

allergen chart

References:

1. Kocian, J. (1996) Further possibilities in the Treatment of Lactose Intolerance: Lactobacilli. Prakticky Lekar (General Practitioner). Vol. 74. pp. 212-214.