Can I take OptiBac if I am lactose intolerant?

In short

The entire OptiBac range is suitable for those with lactose intolerance. However, those with a more severe dairy allergy may wish to be aware that our live cultures are not guaranteed to be entirely dairy free. The strains in some of our supplements are cultured on a base of organic dairy and soy, which is then skimmed off, but traces of the dairy may potentially remain. See the below table for those supplements which are completely dairy free.

In depth

As you are probably aware, lactose intolerance is the inability to digest significant amounts of lactose, the predominant natural sugar found in milk and dairy products. Lactose intolerance usually results from a shortage of the enzyme lactase, which breaks down lactose into simpler forms that can then be absorbed into the bloodstream.

Strictly speaking, however, some of the OptiBac supplements are not guaranteed to be entirely dairy free. Some of the strains are cultured on a base of organic dairy & soy and then skimmed off for use in the capsules or sachets, meaning that traces of dairy may remain in the supplements. We therefore recommend the entire range for individuals who are lactose intolerant, but not all of the range is suitable for those who are severely allergic to dairy or who are strictly vegan.

For strictly dairy free products in the range, see For every day EXTRA StrengthFor every day MAXFor those on antibioticsBifidobacteria & fibreFor daily immunitySaccharomyces boulardii, For women and For your baby; none of which contain any traces of dairy. For your cholesterol is also free from dairy, but the omega-3 soft capsules are not vegetarian, therefore this product is not to be recommended to vegans.

The allergen table below also clearly shows which of the OptiBac range are suitable.

*N.B.: Please note that as of the 31st March 2017 'For every day' has changed its allergy status and is no longer strictly dairy-free or vegan. Dairy has become necessary in the manufacturing process and tiny traces may remain in the product. The product will continue to be fine for those with dairy intolerance but not for those with a severe dairy allergy.

allergy chart