Which Optibac Probiotics are lactose & dairy-free?

Whilst the entirety of the Optibac Probiotic range is suitable for those with lactose intolerance, if you have a serious dairy allergy you may wish to take note of our completely dairy-free supplements. Find out below all you need to know about our lactose and non-dairy probiotics.

Probiotics and lactose intolerance

All of the Optibac Probiotic range is suitable for those with lactose intolerance. Lactose intolerance is the inability to digest significant amounts of lactose. Lactose is the predominant natural sugar found in milk and dairy products. Lactose intolerance usually results from a shortage of the enzyme lactase, which breaks down lactose into simpler forms that can then be absorbed into the bloodstream.

Can you take probiotics if you have a dairy allergy? 

We do not recommend taking probiotics that contain dairy if you have a severe dairy allergy, however, they are fine to use if you are lactose intolerant.

Those with a severe dairy allergy should be aware that some of our probiotics are not guaranteed to be entirely dairy-free. The strains in some of our supplements are cultured on a base of organic dairy and soy. This is then skimmed off, but traces of the dairy may potentially remain.

Dairy-free probiotics

Many, but not all, of our probiotics, are suitable for people with a dairy allergy.  This is because some probiotic strains are cultured on a base medium containing dairy and although they are separated from any medium before they are put into sachets or encapsulated, there may still be a small chance that the final product will contain a tiny amount of residual dairy. We therefore recommend the entire range for individuals who are lactose intolerant, but not necessarily those with a severe dairy allergy or who follow a strict vegan diet. 

Optibac Probiotics non-dairy products 

The following supplements are completely dairy-free:

For your cholesterol - 30 capsules are also non-dairy probiotics, however, the omega-3 soft capsules are not vegetarian, therefore this product is not recommended for vegans.

If you are vegan please head to our shop to discover which Optibac Probiotics supplements are suitable for vegans.

The allergen table below also clearly shows which of the Optibac Probiotic range are suitable for various allergies:

General allergy chart with pack shots

If you have any further questons we are always happy to help.

Health professionals can head over to the Probiotic Professionals site to learn more about live cultures and lactose intolerance.